Skip to main content
Sign In

Dr. Yiming "Jerry" Deng

Electrical Engineering

Prof. Yiming Deng
Prof. Yiming Deng


The Principle Investigator, Dr. Yiming "Jerry" Deng, is an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and he is leading an integrative effort in both research and education to apply advances in engineering, physics, and mathematics to the development of advanced nondestructive/noninvasive or minimally invasive imaging techniques. His current research interests are imaging/sensing for nondestructive evaluation (NDE) and structural health monitoring (SHM), Intelligent Prognostics and Health Management (PHM) of complex systems, Numerical Modeling and Simulation, that basically cover three methods: analytical, experimental (e.g. nondestructive evaluation techniques, sensors development) and computational (e.g. finite element methods, meshless methods, and multi-physics solvers). Dr. Deng is the director or the LEAP Group and also an adjunct professor of Bioengineering and Scientific Staff at Colorado Translational Research Imaging Center. He is currently a visiting assistant professor of Pharmacology at CU School of Medicine. As PI or co-PI, Dr. Deng has attracted over $1.6M research grant and involved in cutting-edge research projects with the amount of $3.5M.

LEAP News (click it!)

Laboratory of Electromagnetic and Acoustic Imaging and Prognostics (LEAP)

PhD/MS students office: North Building 2404; Office location: North Building 2404C (13 current LEAP members, Spring 15)

LEAP Lab location: Boulder Creek Building 101


Research Sponsorship:

The research in LEAP has been sponsored by the following federal and private agencies, foundations and organizations including: CU system (FDG Grant, MPP Grant, YUMPS Grant), US Department of Transportation/PHMSA, NSFC, National Institutes of Health R01, American Society for Nondestructive Testing, National Jewish Health, DARPA, etc. The support is gratefully acknowledged!




© The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.